New Space Marines 6th Edition Codex Rules – Q & A

Warhammer 40.000 Space Marines

There is a rather odd wealth of Games Workshop rumours recently. The entire new Space Marines range for Warhammer 40K, presumably to be released in September, appeared on the interwebs weeks earlier than the usual appearance of White Dwarf scans.

Likewise, there has been an almost (in recent years) deluge of Tyranid rumours, which (if the same rumours are correct) won’t see a new release until November this year.

Now, back once again to Space Marines. And not just rumours or White Dwarf scans, but nothing less than a fan-made (by the guys from Talk Wargaming) Q & A of 40K Radio, who in turn seem to have a copy of the rules (which, in contrast to the White Dwarf, strikes me as an entirely new quality of “leak” entirely).

Anyhow, here’s the Q & A. Good stuff. Hell, even GW themselves usually aren’t able to cover a Codex as thoroughly after it is released!


#1 – Talk Wargaming Quizzes 40K Radio

Q: Is it true that what you guys have is an early playtest material, not the actual printed C:SM codex?
A: I have the final print copy.

Q: Are their any new Special Characters?
A: No.Q: Is honour guard still 3-10 models, or only available as 5 models similar to command squads or BA honour guard?
A: 3-10

Q: Is relic blade still S+2 AP3 two-handed?
A: Yes

Q: Do Legion of the Damned get Soulblaze like in Apoc?
A: No

Q: Can the LotD still Deep Strike?
A: YesQ: Does the LotD still have Slow and Purposeful?
A: Yes

Q: Can the LotD be joined by characters?
A: No

Q: Does Cassius have the Zealot rule?
A: Yes

Q: Do the AA tanks have an alternate fire mode that lets them shoot at ground targets?
A: No, only one firing mode

Q: Can child chapters take the SCs of their parent chapters?
A: No (those are unique to their chapter)

Q: Can Pedro and Lysander be in the same army without using allies?
A: No (CF is one chapter, IF is another)

Q: Are Techmarines slotless HQs like the DA book?
A: Yes

Q: Can Captains still take Artificer Armor?
A: Yes

Q: Do Sternguard combi-weapons still cost 5 points?
A: No, they’re 10 points

Q: Does Helbrecht have any other special rules besides the once a game rule that gives fleet/hatred?
A: No

Q: What is the cost of a five man scout squad with a Vet Sergeant?
A: 65 Points

Q: Do bikes and centurions get combat squads rule?
A: Bikes yes, Centurions no.

Q: Is there is any vehicle able to get grav weapons?
A: No

Q: Are neophytes of crusade squad an independent squad that can join the main unit as it was rumoured, or crusade squads are a full unit option?
A: No, like last Black Templars Codex.

Q: Is there option for crusade squads of getting two special weapons?
A: No.

Q: If one crusader squads takes a CLR as transport, it has any point cost reduction?
A: I don’t have the Black Templars Codex to check.

Q: Have Black Templars access to biker scouts?
A: Yes. They have access to everything except Librarians.

Q: Marneus Calgar “God of War” rule is still in there? Has it been replaced by the 3 warlord traits rule?
A: It’s different and cool.

Q: How many points cost a grav-gun as special weapon on a tac squad?
A: 15 points.

Q: How many points are the lascannon and missle launcher upgrades on the Centurion Devastators?
A: Lascannon is 10, Missile is 10

Q: How much do Relic Blades Cost?
A: Chapter Master and Captain get it for 25 points.

Q: Does the codex include a Power Field Generator (DA Wargear that generates a 4++ for a unit)?
A: No

Q: Can Tactical Marines take a Special Weapon at 5 models?
A: A Squad of 5 can have a special weapon or heavy weapon.

Q: Can Calgar still take up to 3 units of Honor Guard?
A: Yes

Q: Additionally, does his still have the rule that lets him choose to pass or fail morale checks at will?
A: Yes (more in the show)

Q: Are Black Templar Characters required and/or accept challenges?
A: Not required, but they will be sick in challenges

Q: Bikes squads that can be made troops, a minimum of 5 models or 5 models max? there is some conflicting sounding information so people just want to confirm.
A: At least 5 (max 9 with Attack Bike) and if your Captain or Chapter Master is on a  bike you make take them as troops.

Q: So Chapter Masters on bikes can unlock bike squads of at least 5 models as troops too?
A: Yes.

Q: Do LotD still have their 3++ save?
A: Yes

Q: Can the Bikers take the grav gun options?
A: Yes

Q: Can Scout Squads take locator beacons or teleport homes?
A: Teleport Homers.

Q: Does Shrike have any other rules?
A: No.

Q: Do Chapter Tactics cost anything?
A: No.

Q: The Stalker, does it have 4 shots total that it can split fire with or does each gun fire 4 shots each?
A: 4 shots each

Q: Do any of the SC’s have Stubborn or Fearless?
A: No

Q: Does the Emperor’s Champion take up an HQ slot?
A: Yes

Q: Does Sicarius still re-roll his Sieze Initiative attempts?
A: No

Q: Any change to Razorbacks?
A: I believe they went up 5 points

Q: Does the Ultramarines Tactical Chapter Tactic affect Sternguard special ammo?
A: I believe so.

Q: Also, are bike upgrades for Space Marine Captains cheaper?
A: I think the upgrade stayed the same.

Q: Are normal bikes cheaper?
A: Yes

Q: Are all these answers from an early rendition or playtest and subject to change? Or are these concrete answers from a full codex?
A: The book I have looks like the final. If this is a fake then a ton of effort has gone into this.

Q: Is there any way to assault from vehicles besides assault ramps on land raiders and stormravens?
A: The Land Speeder Storm.

Q: How do Successor Chapters work exactly?
A: This will be covered on the 1 Sept show. The answer is really long and it’s easier to just explain it verbally than type it out.

Q: How do Camo Cloaks work?
A: +1 to cover, or 6+ cover if not in cover

Q: Can any of the HQs get Camo Cloaks?
A: No

Q: Is there a way to get Eternal Warrior?
A: Yes

Q: Can any of the HQs buy any special rules?
A: No

Q: Do the HQs still have access to Hellfire rounds?
A: No

Q:  In 5th Edition you were encouraged to use SCs as “Count-As” special characters to give you some new/interesting combinations. Is there anything in the new book that allows you to do this?
A: You can no longer do that due to Chapter Tactics.

Q: Just to confirm, this means the Camo Cloaks and the Raven Guard Chapter Tactic stack, right? +2 to their cover saves for having both?
A: They do stack, but there is a caveat to the Raven Guard rule.

Q:  Black Templars High Marshal (Chapter Master equivalent?) Helbrecht has no Orbital Bombardment, but BT can take a “regular” Chapter Master and get the OB from him?
A: Correct, Helbrecht does not have it, but regular Chapter Masters do.

Q: To confirm then, successor chapters who use the same Chapter Tactics as their Parent Chapters can’t use the SC of their parent chapter, even as a “Count-As”?
A: Can’t use “Count-As” because those are specific to the parent chapter.

Q: Define caveat in terms of Chapters. What are the caveats? Will you go over every chapter?
A: You have not been given all the details of the Chapter Tactics.

Q: Have Razorback weapon upgrades gotten cheaper, more expensive or stayed the same?
A: Some went down.

Q: How much do Relic Blades cost for Honor Guard?
A: 10 points.

Q: Do these caveats require certain minumum requirements of units or wargear?
A: No.

Q: Are the Drop Pods priced like the DA ones (to include upgrades)?
A: Similiar.

Q: When making an army, are you required to take a chapter trait?
A: Yes.

Q: Is the Exorcists Chapter covered in the list of different Marine chapters/successors in the book?
A: Yes, there is a small blurb, but the do not have a parent chapter.

Q: Are any of these caveats negative things (like the old 4th edition flaws)?
A: No. The caveat is we have not revealed all the abilities for some chapters.

Q: Is there any clue you can give us on the nature of these caveats?
A: There are many layers to the Chapter Tactics (no negatives).

Q: Did the points cost change for Power Weapons?
A: Generally the same, per units choices.

Q: Did the points cost change for Power Fists?
A: Power Fists stay the same.

Q: How much do Crusader Squads pay for Power Weapons?
A: 15.

Q: Can the Initiate in a Crusader Squad take a Power Fist?
A: Yes at 25 points.

Q: How does the limit for the extra power weapon in the Crusader squad work. Is it just 1 Initiate or is it 1 per X number of models in the squad?
A: 1 Initiate and then upgrade one to Sword Brother and you can get another.


Thoughts?

Well?

Lots of stuff to digest, but if you do, there’s almost no point in actually buying the yet-to-be-released Codex, so much information is out there. And if the Tyranid rumours are correct, this leak doesn’t seem to be a one-off for the Space Marines either.

Good times for Games Workshop rumour-mongers head I guess.

Z.

Zweischneid

Zweischneid

I am Zweischneid. Wargame Addict. Hopeless painter and founder of Pins of War. I hope you enjoyed this article. Don't forget to share your favourite miniature pictures and wargaming videos at www.pinsofwar.net.
Zweischneid
DreadBall Short Story Competition http://t.co/Wopk6sK7LC #dreadball #competition #fiction #scifi #boardgame - 2 hours ago
Zweischneid

Latest posts by Zweischneid (see all)

  • Anon

    Wait, if I get that straight, I cannot use Special Characters in a chapter I made myself, even if I use the SC’s Chapter tactics. E.g. I use Pedro Kantor, but decide he is not Chapter Master of the Crimson Fists, painted dark blue and crimson paint, but of the Silver Hands, painted ultramarine and gunmetal, would that be legit?

    • http://pinsofwar.net/ Zweischneid

      Well, all rumours and such.

      But yes, by your example, the Silver Hands Pedro would be legal if (!) the Silver Hands are have the IF Chapter Tactics. But choosing the IF Chapter Tactics apparently will close the option to take, say, Vulkan.

      It seems to be bit of a (rather convoluted) reversal of the 5th Edition “SC-unlocks-special-rules” version. You don’t need a SC for a Chapter Tactics, but you must choose a Chapter Tactics, and your choice limits the availability of SC, and in a rather more strict than the 5th Edition approach, where you could simple denote a “primary” SC for the purposes of Chapter Tactics.

      • damaddok

        I don’t think so:

        “Q: To confirm then, successor chapters who use the same Chapter Tactics as their Parent Chapters can’t use the SC of their parent chapter, even as a “Count-As”?
        A: Can’t use “Count-As” because those are specific to the parent chapter.”

        This sounds pretty clearly like your Marines MUST be painted yellow to take Lysander. I can’t see that being enforced by tournament organizers, though.

        • http://pinsofwar.net/ Zweischneid

          Well. Hard to tell. Going to depend a lot on the exact wording.

          But, as you said, I find it hard to see how they would make a rule that explicitly forbids you to use a “yellow” Crimson Fists army.

          What it could more easily prevent is an army (allies notwithstanding) that has both (!) Lysander and Kantor. As they are from two different chapters, you may not be able to “counts-as” one into the army of the other. Much less .. dunno … Vulkan and Tigurius.

          But if you only use Kantor, in a yellow-painted army, I doubt they’ll stop that. And since Kantor can only be used in an army using the CF Chapter Tactics (which happen to be identical to the IF Chapter Tactics), you’re pretty close.

          Either way, sounds like a train-wreck of a rule as far as promoting “hobby” and “creativity” goes.

          • damaddok

            Yeah, frankly I’d rather a return to the 4th edition Chapter Traits system. I know there were ways to “break” it (I view Warhammer as much more of a “narrative” game, so I agree with GW’s general positioning on those issues), but it was, if nothing else, a great way to develop unique ideas for successor Chapters.

            This just sounds like arbitrary restrictions in the name of “fluff” (despite the fact that most people use SCs as characters that are most definitely not that Special Character).

      • Martin Kjær Jensen

        The colour of their armour doesn’t matter.
        It’s quite simple though: If you play an IF army, then you can take Lysander, if you play any other SM chapter or successor chapter, then you can’t.

        Quite simple. An SC is only for the chapter he belongs to, no matter what colour you paint them in.

  • jake

    ok i am making a BT list but cannot find any type of points cost for them. i have the new codex but i cant figure out some costs. where are the costs for the chapter relics and other wargear for units?

    • http://pinsofwar.net/ Zweischneid

      Hi. They are on page 159 in the Codex.